Beekeeping Webinar

I participated in a Webinar last week with Kim Flottum from Bee Culture Magazine.  They discussed fall concerns with the hive, feeding, and storage of hive parts.  I learned (as I expected) that I have a bit of a problem with small hive beetles.  I ordered a Hood trap and set it up today with some apple cider vinegar in it.  We’ll see what I catch.

I also added a top feeder for the first time with a 2:1 sugar/water syrup.  We’re heading out of town this coming weekend (to GA – Wayne is doing his first 100 mile bike ride!), and again next month to the Outer Banks so I wanted to make sure I could set up food for an extended period of time.  I killed two bees removing the inner cover, so they were not at all happy with my presence. I didn’t even pull out any frames, just added what I needed to, put it back together, and got out of the way.

Leave a Reply

