First Sting – A Rite of Passage?

Today I received my first sting as a beekeeper.  It was quite stupid on my part.  I was just visiting the bees, one landed on my leg, and (without looking), I swatted assuming it was a mosquito or another bug.  I watched the bee twirl in circles as she pushed the stinger into my leg, then die.  It was quite sad and quickly became quite painful.  I scratched the stinger out as per the instructions from my books (as opposed to pulling it out which tends to leave more venom).

It feels like a rite of passage of sorts.

Leave a Reply

